Resting, Trusting, Listening

I’m so forgetful. Are you, too?

I wrote in my last post about my nephew being in a horrible car wreck leaving him with a traumatic brain injury. He has made incredible progress.

Let me rephrase that. The Lord has brought Levi so far in such a short amount of time. He is now awake, off the ventilator, and able to talk a bit. There are still a lot of concerns, but he is making a little progress each day. It feels like it’s 2 steps forward and 1 step back. It is trying and tiring for my sister. I can’t be up at the hospital as much as I wish I could be. Please continue to pray for complete healing, not only physically, but in all of our hearts, too.

When the not-so-good news comes, it’s sometimes easy to forget the good news.

I’m putting one of my kids back into public school. That brings up all kinds of insecurities and fears in me, but I know it’s best.

Money is getting tighter by the moment. I’ve had quite a few unexpected expenses. Christmas is upon us and somehow I’ve created a child that seems to want all kinds of expensive things.

Today was rough. Had a bump in the road of our daily life. Not a huge bump.

Also received some bad news about the health of another young family member.

My Christmas tree has colored lights. Why on earth do I have colored lights? The kids love them. I do not. I also would be quite content without a tree, I do it for them.

A friend brought a present for each of my children and myself. I was surprised and honored. I’ve known her a few years, but not well. I only see her once or twice a year.

In some ways I miss my old house, but I know that I’m following where God is leading me.

You know, we get so caught up in paying the bills, laundry, dishes, cooking, dealing with the heart attitudes of our children, homeschooling (or not) that we forget what it’s all about. We rush about trying to do all the right things to make our lives or the lives of our family really good, but we miss the mark.

I lie in bed in the morning and the night praying about all the things that run through my head. All day I pray asking/telling Jesus, “You’re ALL I need. Really you are, right? Um, yeah, You’re it.” I pray for my kids and my money and the people I love around me. Brain injuries, broken hearts, dates at the recording studio, friends’ marriages, sick babies…it never ends.

He always has a plan.
What is His heart for this broken world?
That’s all I really want. His heart. I want to know it, I want to carry it, I want to not be too busy to listen.

My good friend, Lennox, wrote a song about this very thing. There are actually 2 versions of it. I have a definite favorite. I’ll let you decide which on you like better. Please, though, make sure you let him know which one. Buy the one you like the most. Both versions are fantastic.

The thing is, I guess I’m always looking for just the right time to hear God or be with God or be alone with Him when really I need to remember that I can always rest in Him. I need want someone who can just grab me by the shoulders, give me a good hug, then spin me around so I’m facing the Lord again. I don’t have that, though sometimes my kids do a pretty good job at pointing.

Sit For Awhile.
Clicking on the song title above will lead you to the song page.

Pray for my family. Pray for my kids.

A few weeks ago someone prayed for me and said that God was giving me an extra amount of peace. Things were going pretty smooth at that time. When he said that my eyes popped open and I thought, “Uh oh”. The good thing about hearing that is that now when one more thing gets piled onto what is already happening I can kinda set my stance and tell myself, “Well, I already have the peace to deal with this.”

What is the Lord doing in all of this? What will be the incredible story?

One comment

Something touch your heart or tickle your fancy? I'd love to hear more about it.

