Shift

Something shifted in me recently. I didn’t really talk about it and I’m sure that it went unnoticed. It wasn’t so much an outward shift, but something in me changed.

First of all, I started a Bible Study created by the gals over at Good Morning Girls called Loving Like Jesus. It’s an 8 week online Bible Study. I’ve really been enjoying it even though I’ve been somewhat inconsistent in keeping up with the study.

We started in Luke 17 and right away some things started to pop out at me.

 Does he thank that servant beacause he did the things that were commanded him? I think not. – 17:9

Then there’s the one leper, out of ten, that comes back to thank Jesus for healing him and after that Jesus says, “Arise, go your way. Your faith has made you well.” 17:19

Then in verse 20 Jesus begins to talk about how the world will continue to live in their sin as those who were in the days of Noah. They laughed at Noah and all perished. Lot lost his wife when escaping Sodom. I don’t know what it’s going to look like when Jesus comes back or what it means for sure when it says the Son of Man is revealed.

Now, in chapter 18 we this one really got me. The Pharisee and tax collector are praying and the Pharisee thanks God that he is not like the Pharisee and boasts of his good works while the tax collector simply says, “God, be merciful to me a sinner!” Some friend and I were recently talking about someone we know and I nearly said, “I’m so glad I’m not like her!” I remembered this story so I didn’t say it out loud, but I still meant it. Isn’t it funny how we like to boast of how we don’t sin in certain ways, but we hide away the ways we do sin?

Up next is the rich young ruler who can’t give up his riches. I don’t have monetary riches to give up, but there are things I’ve been pretty reluctant to give up because it would cause discomfort and seems impossible. Yet, we are told by Jesus, “The things which are impossible with men are possible with God.”

These are the words that stand out to convict me and remind me of who I am. That right there gives me strength. There’s nothing more debilitating than forgetting or not even knowing who you really are.

I guess that I can’t even accurately articulate what happened in  me. Oh, maybe it’s that I got focused.

There is only one way and the way is narrow and for me, the path is steep at times.

You know what else it is?

Incredibly blessed.

(Don’t be jealous when I tell you that I think I’m God’s favorite!)

2 comments

Something touch your heart or tickle your fancy? I'd love to hear more about it.

