When was the last time you wrote a haiku? I think I was in the 7th grade. My teacher was Ms. Morris. I loved that class. I think it was a required class, but there was a lot of creative writing involved. Did I mention that I loved that class. I recently found an award I won from a writing contest she entered me into. I also went to a few writing workshops at nearby colleges. I wanted to write books like S.E. Hinton. I loved The Outsiders. I dreamt of being a famous author. Anyway, I’ve been reading haiku’s on my friend’s blog…well, he’s my friend’s friend really…and it encouraged me to write a couple.

So here they are. They’re off the cuff and quick.

1.

The sun warms my soul.

The wind caresses my heart

The King loves me so

2.

Fire burns in His eyes

It pierces my dark coldness

The wall is melting

