Last Leaves of Fall
Last Leaves of Fall

I am so glad that it is bright outside. There are still amazing clouds and little pockets of fog in the tree covered hills, but it is bright. The colors are vibrant, the shadows crisp, and the birds are happily hopping about in my backyard looking for fat earthworms and morsels of breadcrumbs. They better leave some of those worms in my compost pile!

Now that the main part of my house is tidy and boxes put away I am ready to work on the girls’ room. Back in August/September I completely rearranged my living room and bedroom. It has taken me months to get up the gumption to finish it off. I had books, papers, and boxes of books to take care of. Now my house is pretty. The girls’ room, however, is a totally different story. It is a DISASTER! So, I will soon make my list for today and begin tackling it. I am getting a late start on the day, but I feel okay about that. I sat in bed with all the kids and read the story of the Nutcracker.

Yesterday I took time to journal about all the times God has provided for us. I wanted to write it all in one place so that when I’m feeling discouraged I can look back to that entry. I have pages written and it’s only a few years’ worth. As I’m writing I’ll suddenly remember more instances. One day I’ll have start a series of blog entries strictly on God’s provision. Many of you have your own stories. The latest happened just yesterday. We usually get a Christmas tree. Not always, but often. Now I know some of you disagree on such a practice, but I’m not here to talk about that. Anyway, on the way to church yesterday I had decided that I was not going to pay for a tree. I just couldn’t justify spending money on it. After church a man came up to me and asked if we had a tree because he has an extra tree. I spoke with his wife this morning and she said that she got the call while at church. What perfect timing! Now we will have a 5 1/2 ft. noble fir tree. My kids were so happy. God cares even about the small things that seem unimportant.

