imgp2099

Me: Ireland, did you know you’re a princess?
Ireland: Yes.
Me: How did you know that?
Ireland: Cuz
Me: Cuz why? Who told you.
Ireland: Jesus did.
Me: Oh, when?
Ireland: Yesterday.
Me: When yesterday?
Ireland: In our meeting.
Me: You had a meeting with Jesus?
Ireland: mmhm

All this is said quite calmly and matter-of-factly while she plays a matching game on my phone.

imgp20971

Here’s the same conversation with Dusty.

Me: Hey, do you know you’re a princess?
Dusty: Yeah.
Me: How?
Dusty: You’ve told me a lot.
Me: Do I tell the truth?
Dusty: [laughing] Yes.
Me: Are you a warrior princess?
Dusty: [confidently] Yep.

Wow. Where do they get off thinking that? I mean, they’re little girls and they already know the truth. It took me a lifetime to even consider that I could be a princess of any sort. Now, I’m not talking about a weak girl that needs to be rescued and hasn’t a brain in her pretty little head. Though, admittedly, I’ve done some pretty foolish things when I’ve forgotten to use that brain of mine. But I’m talking of women like Deborah, Esther, and Eowyn. Oh, and I just remembered that the queen in Shrek the Third does not stand idly by and let she and the princesses remain captive. Will my girls be warrior princesses? Standing strong in time of battle? Isn’t it always a time of battle? This life, this walk with Jesus, isn’t a flesh and blood battle, is it? This is clear in Ephesians 6 and 2 Corinthians 10. Warriors who are strong in the spirit, yet filled with kindness and wisdom along with all the other attributes from Proverbs 31.

When Christopher was a baby I would hold him in my arms and pray that he would be a prayer warrior. I’ve always felt that was a weakness in me and didn’t want it to continue on with my children. I don’t know that he is or isn’t. I do know that all my kids are quick to pray for me when they see I need it. On one of my hardest days a couple months back I just went about crying. I couldn’t stop. I tried. Christopher put his arms around my shoulders and prayed for me.

[oh my goodness-my shoulders? How did that happen? Have I mentioned that it is now obvious he is taller than I?]

Anyway, these are a few of my thoughts over the past couple of days. Being told that I am a Warrior Princess and almost believing it yet still struggling with knowing whether my prayers are indeed effective in the Kingdom. Am I battling well enough?

