Christopher’s birthday is tomorrow. I should be cleaning, listing {that’s making lists}, cooking, balancing {the money}, showering {the body}, and a host of other things. But I can’t seem to focus on those things right now. I’m thinking about where I was 13 years ago right now. At the time of this writing [9 a.m.] I had been in labor for about 24 hours. I want to tell the story of Christopher, because it really is a miracle. So hold on to your hats and get ready for a LONG post.

It really goes back to August 1995. I had started to feel crampy in my abdominal area & I thought, “Oh great, it’s that time of the month again.” I take a shower to see if it will help the pain. I suffered excruciating cramps back then. By the end of my shower I couldn’t stand up I was in so much pain. I called my friend, Ana, to get her advice. She encouraged me to get to the hospital. I didn’t want to go, but I did. That whole ordeal was ridiculous. They made me wait forever then gave me the wrong diagnosis which made me pay for the wrong antibiotic. A couple of days later they called me to tell me that I actually had Pelvic Inflammatory Disease caused by a sexually transmitted disease that went untreated. I seriously didn’t know I had one. I was mortified. Especially since it was my fault. I had been with a handsome black man I worked with while I was going to Bible School. Yes, you read that right. [That’s an entirely different story that very few know of.] So, I had this STD for 2 years or so and it had been wreaking havoc in my uterus. I never felt any pain or discomfort, until this fateful night. I was also told that there would be extensive scarring and that it was doubtful I could ever carry a child to term. I could get pregnant, I just couldn’t host the baby in my body. Do you know how devastated I was? My world crashed down. I was being punished. Disciplined. I was forgiven, but still bearing the consequences of my foolish & sinful behavior. I came to terms with it & enrolled in the community college to pursue the calling I felt tugging on my so strongly.

Now I’m in school taking 18 credit hours & working 20 hours a week. I’m loving this new life. I’m riding my Trek mountain bike to school every day. It was about a 5 minute ride except that you had to wait so long just to cross the street. We lived in a small apartment in north Salem. Life was on track. There was one problem. I was so very very tired. I told my good friend, Lani, “I took a 4 hour nap yesterday and slept 10 hours last night AND my boobs have been hurting for like 3 weeks. I thought I would’ve started my period by now.” She stopped what she was doing and said, “Sweetie, you’re pregnant.” No I’m not. Impossible.

We were very poor at the time, but I rode my bike to Wal-Mart and bought a $10 pregnancy test. I pee on the stick, look at it immediately, and it’s quite obvious that I’m pregnant. I start pacing the apartment. Why did the Lord have me give up the idea of mommyhood? Why did He put on my heart the nursing school thing? Why? The phone rings. It’s Kelly. Only days before he had said he was so glad we weren’t having a baby because he didn’t know how he would provide for it and how he could pursue being a rock star. [He was serious, by the way.] So, I tell him I’m pregnant. He’s silent. I say, “Are you breathing?” He replies, “barely”. He ends up coming home early from work because he was in such a state of shock.

A couple months after this I apply for a job as a resident manager in an elderly foster care home. About 5 minutes after getting the phone call that I’m hired, Kelly walks in the door. He had been fired. So, for the next several months I took care of 5 lovely elderly people. My last day was my due date. [This is also an entirely different and highly entertaining story that will play into the next blog post that will catch you up with the rest of my life.] I moved in with my midwife for awhile to help the labor along. The idea of giving birth to my baby in my elderly foster care home was daunting. It would be like I was working and laboring all at the same time.

This is becoming quite the long blog post. I think I’ll nap then finish up, but before I do let me leave you with these birthday posts:

2006

2007

2008

