IMGP6302

Though the fig tree may not blossom,

Nor fruit be on the vines;

Though the labor of the olive may fail,

And the fields yield no food;

Though the flock be cut off from the fold,

And there be no herd in the stalls-

Yet I will rejoice in the LORD,

I will joy in the God of my salvation.

The LORD God is my strength;

He will make my feet like deer’s feet,

And He will make me walk on my high hills.

Habakkuk 3:17-19

Upon reading this my mind simultaneously went to 2 things. The first thing was a conversation I had with a friend earlier this week or last about trusting God NO MATTER WHAT. No matter if my children are killed, my crops are destroyed, my body covered in boils, my friends chattering on about something they know nothing about, and my spouse telling me to curse God and die. No matter if my bills are due, I’m low on gas, low on cash, and my change oil light is on. I will praise Him in every circumstance. Even when I feel so very alone in raising my kids…especially my teenage son. Even when I am so tired I can barely think and all I want is time to myself. No matter that I have a birthday girl on the 20th who wants an ice skating party or a horse themed party.

Funny that this should even come up. This month I thought I had all my finances under control. I have every penny spent on paper. I was feeling good about it. Then, guess what? I am not babysitting like I have been doing [consistently] for months and my other job frequently tells me she doesn’t need me. I made my budget out in accordance with the expectation of this income. AND I had just told a friend that trusting God for finances was something I had under my belt. I have, after all, seen Him provide for me in amazing ways.

Me and my big mouth.

I will trust the Lord. It is the only logical thing to do, after all.

The second thing I thought of is the poor crippled girl, Much Afraid. Do you know her story? It is an amazing one. It isn’t just her story, it’s our story, too. You can read about it in Hind’s Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard. She embarks on a journey with two companions Sorrow & Suffering. Her journey is a difficult one. She and her companions are transformed. I won’t tell you what they were transformed into, I don’t want to ruin it for you if you haven’t read it. However, I highly encourage you to read it. I think I will read it again. I’ve read it a few times, but more from the perspective that I was Much Afraid. I am not so much like that anymore. I, too, am being transformed. As are you. The Shepherd could see what was going to bloom in Much Afraid. He called her out of her fear into something great.

