Fall is here.

The crispy cool morning air and the bright warm afternoons take me back to my highschool days. One in particular comes to mind. I was wearing a long dress with gold buttons. The background of the dress was black with a floral pattern, but not a bright spring floral pattern. The were muted jewel tones. I loved that dress. On my feet were incredibly uncomfortable boots and on my head was 1/2 a can of AquaNet hair spray. In my bag, or purse the size of a bag, was a jar of black ink and my fountain pen. I was feeling good. I remember wanting to preserve that moment forever. The smell, the cold morning, the bright sun, the chirping birds, the rustling of the leaves overhead, and the incredible sense of being at peace was something I wanted to pour into a glass bottle so I could set it on my shelf and immediately recall that moment.

Fall is here.

The anticipation of how much money my dad would give me for school clothes was exhilarating. I’d mall hop with my youth group leader/very good friend, Teresa. I must find the perfect hypercolor socks to go with my hypercolor t-shirt. Oh, and yes, I’ll take those striped tights and big hoop earrings. What would I wear for the first day of school? I hope nobody else has the same outfit. I had a favorite outfit my senior year. Red A-line shirt,floral leggings, black trouser socks, penny loafer type shoes, and a wide red headband to match. I wore that outfit on the first day of school…so did another girl. A really cute freshman. I couldn’t believe it!

Fall is here.

I love the smell of fresh crayola crayons, don’t you? Sharp new pencils and the coolest of all pens were the highlight of my school supplies. Oooh, and I love to organize binders. I can’t seem to KEEP them organized, but I love putting them together.

Fall is here.

Homework. Can’t say that homework is one of my fondest memories. I didn’t do a whole lot of my own homework. I loved Algebra. I loved my college prep English class, except for the fact that we had to actually share our work with our peers. I loved my friends. I loved the social aspect of high school.

Now I’m in college. I won’t be the socially savvy club leading student I was in the early 90’s. I’m wondering if I’ll even get to know my classmates. This experience will be like no other.

I’m supposed to be writing a few paragraphs about my writing process. I’m not sure how to start that since I really just write for my blog and my journal. My blog isn’t always something I put a lot of thought into. Sometimes I do. Sometimes I don’t. It really matters how I’m feeling that day and if I have anything important to say. I compile blog subjects in my mind. I don’t often get them onto paper, real or otherwise. I’d like to change that. I think that my writing process will have to change as I’m learning to write for a college course, but I’m pretty sure it will start out much like my blogs. I’ll think about it as I do dishes, fold laundry, and do other necessary tasks of my day. Then I’ll sit down and free write all I think I want to say. Then I’ll panic and wonder if I even know how to write complete sentences and proper paragraphs. I’ll try to fit a semicolon in here or there. (I now know how they’re used thanks to my WR121 instructor!)

Fall is here.

And soon I will be in love with with the red and golden leaves blanketing the streets like a welcome home carpet.

