I’m not sure why I seem surprised when it rains for a few days in a row. I was born in this state and I’ve never lived anywhere else. Still, when I’m expecting bright sunny spring days that slowly give way to the long summer days, the darkness of a rainy day saddens me. Yet, it’s also strangely comforting. It makes me want to curl up on the squishy sofa with a warm blanket and good book. I would love to read all day long. At least, I imagine I’d love to. I haven’t been able to do that for years and I don’t think I could appreciate it back when I did have the opportunity.

Dear Rain,

I do not ask that you go away. I only ask that you don’t stay for long periods of time. I actually love you. I love that you make everything green. You give us great puddles to jump in. Sometimes you fall in such a way that I run outside and dance under you. You save me money. I don’t have to pay to keep my overgrown grass green. Have you seen my lawn in late August? Yeah, I just think I shouldn’t have to pay to have a pretty lawn. I’m cheap that way. If I could I would catch  you in great big barrels to have you around when you’ve wandered off to some other part of the world. You know what would be perfect? If you could just rain for about an hour or so a day. Then move those clouds so the sun can shine? What’s that? I need to speak to the sun and the wind? Can’t you just do it? The sun is kind of hot-tempered and the wind…well, you know the wind, I don’t have to tell you about her. Rain, you are amazing and beautiful. Stay, but not too long. Mmm’kay? Thanks.

~Your adoring fan in need of bright days,

Darlene Bethene Taylor

