All day a verse from 2 Chronicles has been running through my mind. Jehoshaphat tells God, “…nor do we know what to do, but our eyes are on You.” On my drive to school I just kept telling God that I don’t know what to do, but my eyes are on Him. When I came home and was fitfully napping I kept saying, “I don’t know what to do, but my eyes are on You.” When temptation came and I began to give in because at times it seems like it doesn’t even matter, I just kept lying there thinking, “My eyes are on You.” There are only two places for my eyes to be. On Him and off of Him. There is no middle ground. Just like light can’t dwell in the darkness.

I didn’t know the setting in which these words were said so I decided to look it up. The Moabites, Ammonites, and others came to battle agains Jehoshaphat. He was afraid so he proclaimed a fast throughout the land and sought the Lord. Judah gathered together to seek the Lord. Then Jehoshaphat stood before the people and reminded God who He is and how faithful He is and how He certainly won’t let them be destroyed. (Moses and Abraham did the same sort of thing, if I remember correctly.) Then all of Judah, with their little ones, wives, and children stood before the Lord. They expected and waited for an answer.

Then He spoke.

He says, “Do not be afraid nor dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God’s…You will not need to fight in this battle. Position yourselves, stand still and see the salvation of the Lord, who is with you…do not fear or be dismayed; tomorrow go out against them, for the Lord is with you.”

Guess what happens next?

The people rose to praise and worship the Lord. Then the next morning they rose early going into the Wilderness. King Jehoshophat appointed singers who should sing to the Lord and who should praise the beauty of holiness as they went out before the army and were saying, “Praise the Lord, for His mercy endures forever.” When they began to sing and to praise the Lord set ambushes against the enemies adn they were defeated. All of them. Not one survived.

Did you hear that? When they began to praise the enemies were defeated. It wasn’t the other way around.

I didn’t read that far before. I was planning on writing about positioning ourselves and standing. Now I have a more complete understanding.

Position yourselves. Stand still. Praise. Worship.

How do we stand? Ephesians says to stand while armored up. Romans says we stand by faith. Hebrews 11 has a lot to say about faith. You know, the writer of Hebrews mentions Gideon. Gideon was faithful? He didn’t believe God right away, did he? He had to test Him with the fleece. Yet, here he is, in Hebrews mentioned as a man of faith.

I want to be a woman of faith. I also want to be a faithful woman.

 

