*I couldn’t get this posted before bed because I was having issues with uploading a picture.

Technically, it’s tomorrow, which is Sunday. However, I haven’t gone to bed yet so in my real life it’s still today, which is not Sunday because Sunday is tomorrow. Got it?

My life is full of challenges just as all our lives are. However, I have found that I am also incredibly blessed. I so often forget that fact.

In fact, I think I forget it every day.

This evening I spent a few hours chatting with a group of women. I’m keenly aware that I’m the oldest of the group. Most of them young, married, and a few of them are pregnant. We talked about…well, it doesn’t matter what we talked about. The point I’m trying to make is that I really enjoyed it. It’s nice to connect to other women. Most of them go to my church and I haven’t really connected with the women in my church.

Earlier today as I was driving home from McMinnville with my children I realized that Christmas break was healing for my family. For the most part we all enjoyed being together today after a week of school. One really cool thing about staying out at 5 Rock Ranch is that we all slept in one small room so at the end of the day we played a game, read, prayed, and chatted before drifting off to sleep. Perhaps we’ll do something like that randomly at home. We can all pile into the living room or I’ll let the kids bring a couple mattresses into my room and we can have a slumber party. I’ve noticed that even though Christopher and Dusty still argue, they have still been kinder to one another.

Today I was mentally evaluating my past year. It has been incredible, to say the least. I have learned a lot. A few months ago I was going through a difficult time a friend asked me how I was holding up. After I replied he said, “Dar, please don’t waste this time.” I am really good at wasting time; at pretending that I don’t know what to do, but I do. I may not know how to do what needs to get done, but I know the direction I need to be heading. I have learned much in this past year. It’s time I apply what I’ve learned.

I’ve learned that there will always be another battle around the bend. The enemy is formidable and unrelenting, but so is my Friend, Redeemer, & Captain. Only he has already won the war.

I don’t know what it’s like to walk in victory. That’s uncharted territory for me.

