Good question. I like it. I know what I don’t want to be remembered for, but perhaps that’s a post for a different day.

My mom died when I was 9. I’ve written about that before. I remember someone saying to me, “Your mom was always so hospitable.” I didn’t know that was a compliment. I didn’t know what hospitable meant, I thought it had something to do with the hospital. I remember thinking they were dumb and that I’d never talk to them again. I don’t remember who that person was. I didn’t remember this happening until years later. I was at home group in McMinnville when my friend Tim asked us what our gifts are. I was at a loss of words when my one of my besties, Traci, said that she had an answer. She said my gift was hospitality. It was shocking to me. That’s when I remembered that person’s comment. I somehow felt more linked to my mom. It was like I actually got something good from her.

So I guess I’m saying that I want to be remembered for my hospitality. I also want to be remembered as a woman of joy and strength. I don’t possess either one of those at the moment, but I hope to. I want to be a woman of faith; whose faith is unwavering. I want people to know that I love them. I truly do. Well, most of them. I am trying to love all of them. I want to inspire and encourage those around me to become who they’re meant to become. I want to see them as Jesus sees them. My eyes are far too human to not be cynical. I want new eyes. I want His eyes, His heart, His love. I don’t know that I’ll ever get that meek and quiet title that I’m supposed to have. I haven’t figured out how to be daring and adventurous while being meek and quiet. What was Esther, Rahab, Ruth, and Deborah like. Strong & daring; bold in faith. Yet, gentle in Spirit.

I want to be remember as a good and faithful friend. Like Samwise Gamgee…but without the hairy feet. And really, I still want to be a girl, but not so short and stout…ok. Just not so stout, but hey, those hobbit girls have great hair. On their heads, that is.

 

 

This post prompt was found at The Daily Post on January 10, 2011.

