John talks a lot about love. A concept I’m not quite confident in. I often wonder if I’m loved and I know I’m not great at showing love, especially toward my children when they have disobeyed. I wonder if my kids know they are loved. Like truly and confidently, come hell or high water kind of love. Maybe they do know I love them in those situations, but do they feel loved in our every day life? Do they feel like they are so very important?

Disciple John knew he was loved.

In John 13:25 he says, “Now there was leaning on Jesus’ bosom one of His disciples, whom Jesus loved.” Not only does he know he is loved by Jesus he’s got his head on the chest of the One who died for him not long after that. Oh le sigh…I want that kind of intimacy with Jesus.

1 John 4:17-18 says, “Love has been perfected among us in this: that we may have boldness in the day of judgment; because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. but he who fears has not been made perfect in love.”

I want His love to be perfected in me. I know it is not. I also know that fear does indeed torment.

Many of my fears include my children and their salvation or their healing. Some of them include areas concerning my husband that I’ve been separated from for almost 3 years. (Nothing physical, not that kind of fear.) More along the what’s going to happen? When will we divorce? I have financial fears.

My biggest fear  is about not being enough.

Jesus says I’m enough, right?

 

