I am the queen of procrastination. I can be found joking about it, but really, it is one of the things about me that irritates me the very most. There are many things I don’t like about myself, but this is may be head of the list.

Case in point: I started this blog draft on March 3rd. It is now the 6th.

My calender is quickly filling up. I recently filled it up with things I want to do, but they aren’t helping me accomplish the goals I have set before me. I’ll let it slip this week, but I’m scheduling out my following week a little better.

My kids have missed out on camp before because I didn’t get their application in soon enough. It was a free camp. I felt like a big fat jerk.

I’ve had utilities shut off because I didn’t pay my bills on time, even when I did have the money. Or I wouldn’t ask for help until I didn’t have water. So. Very. Embarrassing. The last time my water was shut off and I was expecting 29 people for dinner that evening.

What causes procrastination? Specifically, what causes me to procrastinate?

  • Fear of not doing a good enough job or not being able to do it at all.
  • Not wanting to do it.
  • Thinking it’ll take too much time. (It never does.)
  • Trying to do too much at the same time.
  • Lack of focus
  • Having so many things that need to get done and not having a plan for such.

Last week I sat down with my calendars and began to write things down. I have a calendar on my wall for the whole family to see, one on my computer that is more detailed, and a planner/journal that I keep with me for when I’m out and about. Sometimes I think I’m too busy and yet, when people ask me what I do I usually shrug my shoulders and say, “Umm, you know Mom/household manager stuff,” as though it’s boring and unimportant. Well, sometimes it is boring, to be honest.

I don’t know what the point is here, for sure.

I do know that I am beginning to shape my life instead of letting it shape me. I am planning instead of reacting to everything. My priorities are actually beginning to show in real life…rather than just on paper.

