I’ve started reading an e-book called 31 Days to Clean. I had been hearing about it through various blogs I read, then I saw it pop up on Twitter. At first I wasn’t interested. I mean, seriously, another book telling me how to clean my house? No thanks. I know that housekeeping is not my forte, much to my chagrin. Don’t get me wrong, I want a clean house and I wouldn’t say my house is filthy, but it certainly is cluttered. I keep thinking of how much better we all feel when things are in order around here. There is less fighting and more…well, more actual living.

My motivation for a clean house isn’t for the recognition. I mean, at first, people would walk in and say, “Wow, your house is so clean” only because that’s not the norm around here.

After thinking about the changes in my life that I’ve been making and several that I’ll need to making soon I decided I would read the book. Also, the author was giving away free copies last week and I didn’t want to miss the chance.

So, I open it up and what’s the first day all about? Creating a mission statement. Something that I’ve been thinking about doing for quite some time now so that when I feel lost I can look at my mission and remember why I’m trudging through the muck. Instead of just spinning around wondering which way to go, I’ll remember what my goal is and move toward that even when I’m moving so slowly.

Well, what is my reason for wanting a clean house? Here’s what I wrote late last night. It’s not perfect and it’s not visually appealing, but here are my thoughts:

I want a home that is a refuge, a safe place to land, a sanctuary. Not only for my family, but others around me who need such a place. I want to be able to have guests over at the last minute and not worry about all the mess. I want my home to be a place where peace reigns and relationships thrive. A place for weary travelers & broken hearts. I want to be able to have people over or take a meal to someone at the drop of a hat. I don’t envision a perfectly clean home. I envision a place that fosters peace.

So yay, onto another step in my journey.

I have so much I want to write. I was absent for so long due to migraines and tiring troubles. Sometimes I forget that writing actually helps me not feel so troubled! These thoughts will have to wait. I still have kids to wake, this body to dress, my face to paint on, and then heading out to grocery shop after meeting my friend at Community Plate. A cool new place in McMinnville.

