I linked to the wrong day from Nester’s 31 Dayers link, so you’re here on day 2. Sorry about that!

For other entries in this series:

Day 1: Days of Reflection
Day 2: Day 2 Reflections
Day 3: Letting Go
Day 4: Managing
Day 5: First Fruits of Leftovers
Day 6:  The Longer I live…
Day 7: BoxesDay 8: [the one I forgot to title]
Day 9: [the one I didn’t bother titling]
Day 10: [oops the one that somehow didn’t get written]
Day 11: Rejoice
Day 12: My Birthday
Day 13: Peace
Day 14: Do Hard Things
Day 15: Exhausted
Day 16: I Don’t Wanna Write!!!!
Day 17: Avoidance
Day 19: Autumnal Thoughts
Day 20: Tears
Day 21: Socialization
Day 23: Courageous Covenant People
Day 25: Goals
Day 27: Parenting & Other Rants  

______________________________________________

This is actually something I’ve wanted to write about for over a week, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

There is a woman, Sara, who loves Jesus with all that she is and who is loved by hundreds all over the world. She touched their lives, though never meeting them in real life. She touched my life and I didn’t even get to meet her online. She died last month from a disease that had ravaged her body for years. She was unable to leave her home. Her immune system was weak so she didn’t get to have people over. She lived her life from her bed. Her body was broken, but her Spirit was free.

She chose Joy. She could have chosen anger and bitterness. She chose Him, wholeheartedly.

I virtually watched her last few days here on earth. One woman, Jessica, posted a blog about Sara inviting others to link up to their blog posts about her. There were 167. [Go ahead. Read a couple.]

I find it intriguing that I am tearing up over a woman I’ve never met. The words come out haltingly with many uses of the delete key. I simply don’t know what to say.

I just read this and it made me cry more. It speaks of the beauty of social media.

Can I just say right now that I LOVE social media? I know, MySpace got trashy. I joined it to support a sweet musician friend, Liana, WAY back in ’05. Then Facebook took us by storm. It changes all the time and we’re all worried about protecting our privacy, but guess what? I have a few friendships that have grown deeper because of facebook. I don’t feel quite as alone because I’m learning to ask for prayer from certain people on there. God is at work here, even on facebook.

Sara writes about her daily life in this post. In it she says:

“Most every gift I had, every talent I possessed, every freedom you can think of, I no longer have.”

Then in the next sentence she says:

“Bottom line, people, I am filled with joy. I’m exhausted, I’m in pain, I’m just getting by. But I am so incredibly blessed. I have a lovely home, an adorable pup, family and friends who care and people who love me, not despite my disease but because of who I am. I am blessed because I take nothing for granted. I love what I have instead of yearning for what I lack. I choose to be happy, and I am. It really is that simple, people. Start every day by being thankful and celebrate your life instead of devaluing it. I am so very grateful for each of you who lift me up and celebrate my life with me, and you should know I am celebrating each one of you every day.”

I have a confession. I want to choose joy, but I’m not even sure what that looks like in my life. I see what it looked like in Sara’s life. I think I’ve had a glimpse of it once or twice. I don’t actually remember it, but I remember telling a friend about it.

Calling it Joy by Lennox Fleary

