37 Years. That’s a long time. Almost 4 decades.

Where was I a decade ago?

I was 27.

  • I was still the manager at Drumwood Apartments in McMinnville. My friend David Ward and I created a HUGE garden. It was awesome.
  • My sweet boy Christopher was 5! Oh such a sweet little thing he was. He would pray and tell me that when he’s a husband he’ll never make his wife cry.
  • Sage was almost a year old.
  • Dusty was a little over 2. Curly hair and the cutest little thing you ever did see! [I’m not biased at all!]
  • I had been married almost 7 years.
Where was I 2 decades ago?
I was 17.
  • I was a senior in highschool.
  • I seriously had ALL the answers.
  • I listened to DC Talk, Petra, Stryper, and Michael W. Smith. {And a little Sir-Mix-A-Lot on the side.}
  • I played flute in pep band. Yep, you read that right. A flute.
  • I was in plays and track.
  • I pretended to be a good student. I was smart, just had better things to do than my homework.
  • I was far too concerned with how my hair looked. {Not sure how much that has changed.}
  • My dad and I went out to eat every single day of our lives.
  • I loved a California surfer boy who saved me from the raging ocean. I paid him back by stinging him with a jellyfish. It was an accident.  This one liked me.
  • I also loved a diamond in the rough gas station attendant. He was rough around the edges, but an incredibly great guy. This one loved me.
  • Those boys didn’t like each other.
3 decades ago I was 7
  • I was in the 2nd grade.
  • I loved math.
  • My mom made the best food in the world.
  • I loved rollerskating and I was AWESOME. Or at least that’s what I thought.
  • Roller skating with a big bowl of cherries in not the brightest idea I’ve ever had.
  • Had a terrible bike accident that required plastic surgery on my face.
  • Wanted to be on the Grand Ole Opry and Hee-Haw.
  • Was awesome at climbing trees, not so awesome at getting down.
I don’t really know how to think about this birthday. I am in a place I never thought I’d be in. That’s not bad, it’s just different. I woke up feeling melancholy and alone, but it was quickly remedied by talking with one of my besties and remembering that I was going to brunch with my good friends. They’re such good friends that they came over to my old house and helped move a few things then came over to my new space and arranged the furniture in such a great way! I LOVE it! Oh, and their daughter helped clean up Dusty’s room and their son played Star Wars with Christopher. We were all happy.
Well, chances are I don’t have 37 more years to live. That would take me to 74. My bio mom and bio grandma both died at ages 50 and 59. I wonder what they would say if I asked them what they would do differently knowing that their years were short? How do I make the most of each moment I’m living? What will my kids remember of me?
