I somehow ended up this blog called From Mrs. to Mama. I don’t know how I found it, that happens in the blog word. It was the day after I wrote a letter to my jr. high self. This week the theme is about high school and I figured I’d do it since all my photos are out anyway. Besides, it’s kind of fun. I guess I can say high school was fun because I was treated well.

1. Tell us what kind of student you were in high school {popular, nerd, sport obsessed, choir, etc}
I wasn’t one of the popular kids, that’s for sure. They had nicer clothes. I wasn’t one of the ignored kids, either. I’d like to say I was well-liked. 

2. Share with us some high school pictures. We know you have them somewhere!

I have something to say about this picture. Happy people to the right, serious people to the left. Hello, MY name is misspelled. I was in yearbook. Which one of  you spelled my name wrong. Hello, you just needed to ask. We had a hard year? I guess I don’t remember it being hard. Probably because being in all the clubs and going to all the sporting events was FUN. 

3. Tell us about your school. Private? Public? How many in graduating class? Mascots? School colors

We are the Bulldogs! The mighty mighty bulldogs! Our colors are black and orange. Small public school. Only about 50 in our graduating class. I wish I could remember what the valedictorian, Steve Werth, had to say at graduation. I really liked him. He’s a great guy. I’m sure it was something like, “Hey, this is not the end of the line. Highschool is just a tiny blip of your life.” I don’t remember. I do remember loving what he had to say and being so very proud of him. 

4. Tell us about some of your favorite memories of high school. Or what stands out the most? Any teachers? Specific classes.

There were some painful times. There were some great times. Pretty much like my life now. I remember many friends dying, mostly due to drunk drivers. I remember asking my dad how he dealt with people dying all the time. He quietly said, “Oh honey, well, in the war we’d be walking along and suddenly our buddy was gone. He’d fall into a booby trap. There was nothing you could do. Just keep going.” That wasn’t comforting at the time. Actually, it’s not that comforting now. 

I also remember standing outside my spanish I classroom handing out bubble gum to each and every student. We weren’t supposed to chew gum in class. The teacher would catch a kid chewing gum and she’d say, “El chicklet in la basura, por favor.” Then when she’d turn around we’d all chew loudly. She’d spin around to try to figure out who was doing the chewing. Did I mention that she was a first year teacher? Exasperated,  she says, “Dolores!” which was my spanish class name. She knew I was the one that handed out the gum. I was not nice to her until I met Jesus. Thankfully for her, that happened only a couple months later. 

Before Jesus I showed up to school drunk. I know that at least one teacher knew, but nothing ever happened. I wanted to get caught. 

I once convinced some kid that Tom Keifer of the band Cinderella was my brother and that he was stopping by our homecoming game, but had to leave before the dance. (You gotta click on those names/links. Don’t you just love the hair!)

Then, I met Jesus and everything changed. I stopped drinking and making up stories.

5. Tell us a piece of advice you would pass on to your children or any child entering high school.

I don’t know what to say. I think I want to say to take it serious, but not too serious. School might be the hardest thing in your life up until now, but in the whole scheme of your life it’ll be the easiest thing. Work hard. Create good habits. Those things will follow you around forever. Be kind to everyone. Know that there is a whole lot of life after school. Listen to people wiser than you. Even me.

I’lll never rock hair like this again. A friend on facebook told me that I had the biggest hair in the school. This photo was taken in 1992. Big hair was on the decline. I was just thankful that I didn’t have perfectly straight hair. Those people got the most awful perms. (My teeth look really yellow there. Must’ve been the lipstick. Or my teeth, but I’m a little more careful that my lipstick doesn’t clash against my yellowed teeth.)

Also, legging made a comeback, but I won’t have any. I dream of having smaller thighs so that I can wear awesome leggings. One day I’ll dress like I really want to, but I’ll worry that I’m too old trying to dress as a teen. So I won’t really know what to wear. I’ll wear [mom] jeans and a t-shirt ALL OF THE TIME.

Oh yes, and that HUGELY oversized shirt. Yeah, it makes me look shorter and fatter. Sort of like a dwarf.

Ladies and gents, this concludes our Monday Show and Tell. Find more great stories over here! 

