Today’s challenge is all about something I miss. It’s 11:09 PM. I’m just sitting down to write this.

It’s also Mother’s Day. Painful. A reminder to me and my adopted kids of something lost and broken. The day was tragic. Yet, at the same time I can honestly and whole heartedly say that it was the best Mother’s Day ever. That makes me feel joyous and sad at the same time. I won’t go into the details of it because I’ve already told my 2 best friends and it’s not worth talking about.

I always thought I missed the idea of having a mom. Today I realized that I don’t miss that. I miss the ideal of being totally honored as a mom. It never  happened before, but this year my kids tried. Really hard. Well, all except one. But again. I don’t want to talk about that with you.

This year Mother’s Day was better. Dusty made me perfect fried eggs by watching how I do them, she said: “and it actually worked”. You think so? 3 of my kids hugged me today and one of them was Dusty. She hated me last year. Things are definitely looking up.

Mother’s Day 2012

Memories of my Mom

Other bloggers write about what they miss here: Story of My Life.

