IMG_1398

 

This could also be titled, “Dumb Things I do”. One day I said to my runner of sister-in-law, “Hey, let’s do this women’s half marathon in Eugene.” So we sign up. She’s a runner. I’m not.

I wrote about the event HERE. It’s a good read. I just read it and I feel emotional all over again.

Here’s the thing. That run was the hardest physical thing I’ve ever done. It took me over 4 hours. That’s a LONG time for 13.1 miles. This set a precedent for me.

Every single time something is hard for me I think, “Shoot, I made it through that 1/2 marathon, I can do anything!” When my day seems particularly difficult or even a week that seems hard I remember that right before I saw that 11 mile marker I seriously didn’t think I could make it. I didn’t know what else I could do, I couldn’t just sit down and stop, but I also didn’t know how I could make it through. I was despairing!

Then that 11 mile marker showed up and suddenly something clicked, I thought, “What??? I made it this far, I’m almost done. I’m. Almost. Done.”

When I’m in that dark place I just think, “This is my 11 mile marker. I’m almost through.”

So, while this isn’t my favorite picture, it reminds me who I am. I’m a fighter. I’m a finisher. I don’t give up. I’m tough.

I like that about me.

-Prompt brought to you by Story of My Life.

 

 

 

