flattire

 

That’s my spare tire. My flat tire is in the back of my car. Lovely, eh?

I. AM. SO. BLESSED. Blessed beyond measure. I feel two things. One, I feel like I am so undeserving. Two, I feel like “of course, this is the way it should be”. It is true, I am undeserving, but you know what? My Father has finds me worthy and that means that I am deserve everything He gives me. Not because of anything I do or what I am in myself but because I am valued by Him. 

My last post talked about the day I got this flat tire and what transpired in the couple of days following. This story is longer than just a few days, it covers the span of years. I’ll try to be brief.

My journey of walking with Jesus began in December of 1989, but trusting Him for all my needs didn’t actually begin until about January of 1998. I remember telling God that I knew He provided for missionaries and pastors, but would he miraculously provide for a normal family like mine. My husband was going to a Bible School and working full time while I stayed home with our baby son. Guess what happened? Amazingness, that’s what! I’d pray something in the morning and God would provide that. We’d wake up with food on our table or envelopes of cash. I didn’t tell a single human soul of our need. I wanted it to be just between me and God.

I’ve spent years watching God do amazing miraculous things in my life and the lives around me. At this time last year, things got shook up a little. My car was broken down. [Sidenote: my car breaks down EVERY summer!!!] I got pneumonia and incurred a medical bill that caused my account to be overdrawn by a bunch of dollars. I cried. I was miserable. I couldn’t understand why it was happening. Guess what? Friends stepped in, got me the meds I needed and another friend sent me the money of what my appointment cost and the amount I was overdrawn.

So, I have flat tires and am pretty much house bound. So what? I wasn’t even worried. I figured that it would work out. I didn’t know how, but I just knew it would. While at church today someone came up to me and gave me an amazing hug and asked about my week. I told her about the tires and how God made a way for my kids to see fireworks anyway and how I thought that was pretty cool. Later that day she and I play some phone tag and when I finally get in touch with her she tells me that she and her husband are going to buy me new tires.

What??? Uh…oh…wow….thank you!

Thank you doesn’t seem like enough. I know I’ve prayed and asked for a way to get the van going again. I wasn’t in a hurry. I wasn’t sad. In fact, I hardly thought about it. I just kept thinking how good God is.

This past week I’ve been talking to Him more. Well, not just talking, I do that a lot, but I’ve been asking Him questions. I’ve asked God things I’ve never dared to ask before. I’ve been brave and taken risks. I want a hope that doesn’t waver. Why should it? He is faithful and unchanging.

I don’t know much, but I do know this:

I am loved with an everlasting love and underneath are His everlasting arms.

