Well, January has flown by and 2014 is well under way. I thought that last year was full of changes, but I only thought that in retrospect. I didn’t expect them, I merely rolled with them.  This year I am expecting changes. I am even looking forward to them. In fact, I’m even orchestrating some of them.  (Woah, did I just say that? Who is this woman behind the keyboard, anyway?!?)

January brought a a lay off and a new hope. I surprised myself by not being able to be depressed about it. I had a goal of getting to bed earlier, 10:30 pm. I tend to stay up WAY too late and drag the next day. I even printed out a little goal tracker for the month. Looks like I met that goal over half of the time. That used to be discouraging, but guess what? That’s WAY more than I was doing the month before. I felt more in control of my life and I’d like to believe it’s because I was well-rested. Oh, you know, it’s not that I was more in control of my life, but that I was more in control of how I reacted or responded to events in my life.

A couple of my other goals was to read my Bible more and write in my gratitude journal each day. We all have something we can be thankful for. I bet practicing both of those things also helped me to manage my life better.

I finished the Nikita series. (It wasn’t one of my goals, but I did it anyway!)

There are a few other  goals I am working toward, as well. Not necessarily blog worthy, though.

I’m looking forward to February. I’m even excited it for it. I’ve got some things in the works that I can’t wait to share!

I’ll be working on my bedtime, Bible reading (or study), and gratitude journal still. I’m going to add in exercising and letter writing. I won’t write a letter a day, but I was recently inspired to write notes again. Most of us enjoy being thought of, right? Well, a few days ago I cleaned my office. I purged, shredded, filed, and organized. I came across letters I’ve received from all sorts of friends from all over the world. I don’t keep everything, just the really important ones. I felt so loved, even after all these years! I began to think of my friends that I love so dearly. Our lives are busy and full. Facebook makes it easier to connect, but it’s not the same as opening up a letter just for you!

In the past goals have been something that was scary and overwhelming to me. When I fell short of them I chose to wallow in my failure instead of learning from it and recalibrating those goals. I’m sincerely surprised that I’m not upset about not having a perfect record for going to bed on time all last month. That’s something that would’ve utterly ruined everything for me! This time around I’m thinking, “Wow, that was awesome! Let’s see how the next month goes!”

Hey, I have a quilt I want to start! I want to have it done by Christmas! (Don’t laugh, I’m super slow at quilting and it won’t be a surprise for the receiver of said quilt, but it will be beautiful and hopefully treasured!)

What is your new goal for the month? A project you want to finish…or even begin?

 

