books
My newest books – waiting to be read. I’m so looking forward to reading them!

I have always loved books. Pictures and words put together creating a world that whisks me away to another time and land. A place where I could be anybody but myself. If you can read you can learn anything. Want to cook? Fix  your car? Raise a child? Ok, that last one is kind of a gamble. There is no book to tell you how to do that perfectly.

As a child I had a favorite place I’d go where I would spend hours upon hours. I possessed a special green card with my name on it that granted me access to other worlds. It was magical. The walls were lined with books about everything you’d even need or want to know. Books as different as the people that walk this earth. All with a unique story. Never two exactly the same. I loved the story of the struggle and the overcoming. I thrived on learning new things about people and places. I still dream  of having a home large enough to dedicate a room to books and the reading of those.

Several years ago I began to read Donald Miller’s blog. During that time he introduced me to the idea of living a better story. I was intrigued by the idea that I could have more of a say in what happens in my life. I’m now reading his book, “A Million Miles In A Thousand Years“. It’s his story of how he learned to live a better story through the process of taking his book (Blue Like Jazz) from book to film. It was a steep and life changing learning curve for him.

It’s making a difference in my every day life. I don’t like getting in shape and pushing my 200+ pounds up a hill panting like I’m going to die as cars whiz by. It’s humiliating and it hurts. I’ve been getting through it by thinking, “This is the making of a good story. It is the transformation from ordinary to extraordinary. The Bible says I am a new creation so I’m going to walk in that. My friend recently said to me, “Make your outsides match your insides.” I am who God has created me to be and is calling me to be. All I have to do is walk in that.

It’s simple. Right?

It IS simple, but it’s also hard. It’s a battle. We have an enemy that prowls around looking for whom he can devour. He is the father of lies coming to steal and destroy every good thing. Guess what? That doesn’t have to happen. We have a choice in that! Flee from him. Draw near to God. Take our thoughts into captivity. Think on the things that are true, noble, just, pure, lovely, of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy – meditate on these things. Change our thinking. Be grateful. Armor up. There’s a song I used to sing to my kids, it says, “I’ve got my feet shod up with the preparation of peace, I’ve got the sword of the Spirit, my shield of faith, I’ve got my breastplate of righteousness, my helmet of salvation – put on the armor and I’m ready for the battle.” (I may have missed some parts, it’s been YEARS since I’ve thought of that song.)

Who are you? Do you know who you are called to be and what you are called to do? What is your passion? What are you doing today to live a better story? If you aren’t living your best story, why not? Let’s figure out how to change that.

