Who are you? Who am I? What does God say about that?

I was already writing a post while listening to something on YouTube. By the end of the video I decided to change my post for today.

I’ve written before of how I have trouble with some of my kids, especially my oldest adopted daughter. Every day is a battle and it can be quite discouraging. Over the past week I’ve thought about how we perceive our worth or what we take on as our identity defines all of our behavior. Les Brown says something about treating someone as they should be and they will rise up to that. Simple to say, more difficult to do. It is a hard thing to speak and pour life into someone when it’s returned with nastiness. However, nothing will change unless that hard thing is done.

Blessing. I have books of blessings and books about blessing. I’ve read them, but haven’t applied them. I feel like I’m doing so many things right and that maybe this is the last frontier to conquer; proclaiming life and healing over myself and my children.

I’ve been learning to love myself more. It feels so selfish to say that. I mean, aren’t we, as followers of God called to lay down our lives for one another. We deserve nothing, right? We are but worms. Yet, Jesus tells us,  “’Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” How do we love our neighbor as our own self if we despise who we are?

I will speak life, God’s words to myself and my children. Even when it’s hard.

This is what got me thinking about it today. Please take the 15 minutes to watch this.

 

