Whew! Yesterday’s post kind of took the wind out of me. I’m not even sure why. This morning as I was getting ready for church I started thinking about  today’s post. Memories keep popping up, the ones that strengthened the lie of not being good enough. I wondered out loud, “God, why am I remembering all of these things? Isn’t it enough to know it’s there and move on?” Next thing I know is that I’m imagining each lie as a baseball and I’m knocking those babies out of the park. That’s it right there. He is bringing them to light so I can get rid of them. 

Today at church during worship we’re singing:

“I’m trading my sorrows, I’m trading my pain, I’m laying it down for the joy of the Lord.” I sit down and started writing in my notebook. The thoughts came so quickly I thought I wouldn’t be able to write fast enough. I’m going to copy here what I wrote in my notebook. 

We often hold onto the lies we believe as though they are a well loved stuffed toy. You know the one. Did you ever have a toy you couldn’t sleep without? I did. It’s that ruggedly beautiful teddy bear. 

happyanimals

Why do we do that? Could it be because if we release what weighs us down then we’ll be left standing empty handed?

What is we turn our hands, palms facing up, ready to receive? What if we trade what is holding us down for the gift he wants to gives us? 

What is it that you need to release in order to receive from Him?

Trading My Sorrows

