Have you ever failed at something? You tried a new recipe and it was a disaster? Have you ever failed a driver test? Have you broken a promises or made them when you knew you weren’t going to honor them? Do you keep eating the same food and hoping for a different outcome? Have your children ever misbehaved in public and you’re the one everyone is looking at? 

I have. I’ve done each and every one of those things. 

Yesterday I talked about shame. Let’s go beyond that. 

What is a person who farms? They’re a farmer. A person who bakes is a baker. So then, a person who fails is a failure, right? 

Not so fast there, friends. Labeling someone as a failure is a blow to their personhood. It wounds their soul. Most of us would never dare to go around calling other people failures. Yet, am I right in saying that we are totally okay with calling ourselves a failure? Would you call me one or allow someone else to talk to me in such a way? I doubt it. Then why do we call our own selves negative names. When we do that, we’re allowing them to have power over us. 

Giving up on your goal because of one setback is like slashing your other 3 tires because you got a flat.

I love that quote. It sounds so ridiculous. Who would slash their own tires? 

I’ve seen quotes about how Michael Jordon missed more shots than he made and was cut from a high school team. Babe Ruth, known for his home run record, struck out more often than hitting home runs. Thomas Edison said, “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” Can you imagine the ridicule he received? He was going to make a light that could turn on with a switch?!? All the people we consider successful are not there because they did everything right. They’ve just failed more than the average person. 

I don’t know about you, but I want to be above average. I want to be brave and bold, never wavering in my goals and dreams.  I am in my last few hours of being 40. At 2:25 a.m.  October 12,1974 I came crashing into this amazing world.Baby Dar

I will be 41 tomorrow. So much has changed in this past year. I am not longer okay with being afraid to fail. At some point in my life I decided to only do the things I knew I could immediately (or almost immediately) be good at. Consequently I’ve missed out on a lot of things. That’s the price you pay when you choose fear. 

I will call this year “the year of the brave”. Fear and doubt are no longer allowed to be in my presence. They can’t even come for a visit. 

How do you deal with the failures in your life? Do you let them knock the wind out of you? Do you retreat? 

  

For the other posts in this series, please visit: amienough

As always, be sure to check out more bloggers in the Write 31 Days challenge! 

31large

