I watched a group of 6th grade girls in a volleyball match today. Even though they  were doing well I could see their morale waning. I encouraged them by shouting out, “You’re doing great girls. You’ve got this, be ready!” I wanted them to repeat that in their own heads, “I’m doing great. I’ve  got this, I’m ready!” 

  
Tonight those girls battled on the volleyball court, but we know that life is a battle on and off the court. We can fight or lie down and die. I looked at those little girls and wanted to tell the most insecure of them, “Hey, you may not know it now, but you are a warrior. Get in there, dig deep, and say kind things to yourself.”

Most of all, I want to take her face in my hands and look into her eyes as I say, “You are amazing. Right now in this moment. You are so loved. There is a God who loves you more deeply than all the oceans. There is no end to His love for us and He is so proud of you. Carry on, little warrior girl!” 

  

For more posts in this series click the photo below:

amienough

