_MG_0461

Balloons, flowers, excited family, and hugs! What more could you want when you step off the plane after over 3 days of traveling?

Lennox’s parents arrived early Wednesday morning. Mom said they left their home in Carriacou on Saturday. They were weary, yet their faces lit up when they saw us standing there.

We’ve all been looking forward to this day. It’s been on our calendar and this week it was on our whiteboard under the “coming events” column. Ireland has been telling everyone how excited she was for Tuesday because that’s the day her Grandma and Grandpa would be arriving. She insisted on bringing balloons and a dozen white roses.

We expected them just before midnight on Tuesday, but their flight was delayed so they arrived at nearly 2 a.m. on Wednesday. Ireland was so excited that she flitted around like a little bird, dancing and chattering away. I tried to rest, but it’s not easy to do so when I’m also trying to keep an eye on her. The guys, however, had no problem in sleeping.

_MG_0455_MG_0456

As 2 o’clock was drawing near we were all awake and waiting for their arrival. We laughed, we paid too much for snacks, we played. We had fun making a memory of being at the nearly empty airport! It was so fun. I am loving my family!

I want to soak it all in. These moments are the so good.

_MG_0464_MG_0469

Ireland practices the art of taking selfies with Lennox and showing him all her creations on some app she loves to play on. (That made me feel old saying “some app” just now.)

With Mom and Dad Fleary coming I’ve found myself realizing this is all so real. Lennox’s sister, Di, will arrive next Thursday. I’ve never met her and I’m so looking forward to it!

I have so many things that I’m thinking and feeling. I can’t seem to express them. I stand at the stove making breakfast, listening to worship music and crying. I think of the line in song that says, “Cause I loved you before you knew what was love” and think of many of the ways God has shown me His incredible love throughout my entire life. In the live version of Kim Walker’s “How He Loves” she says, “The love of God changes us…we’re never the same when we’ve encountered the love of God.” I first heard that song soon after my first marriage broke up. In fact, I just remembered that I posted the video of that song as my first blog post here. I didn’t understand it yet. I knew God loved me. I don’t think I could accept it.

That’s all changed now.

I’ve encountered it. I see it. I’ve been changed by it.

