Today is the beginning of the first full week of no school for the kids. In my mind it marks a new start. It’s a clean slate. The summer days are calling out to be lived to the fullest. I think of planning my summer and it already feels full. I have thoughts of lots of beach time or a few lovely waterfall hikes. Maybe we’ll go back to the Oregon Coast Aquarium and explore more of Newport. There are also growing things to be watered, weeded, thinned, and planted or replanted. We have a fire pit out back that beckons me to sit around on our cool summer nights.

Today Ireland had friends over for a hot dog roast and water balloon fight. She burned her school papers and laughed a lot. I like the laughing and playing. We had hamburgers, hot dogs, watermelon, chips, and salad. It felt like summer. I like being the home the kids like to hang out at. It can be tiring, but the memories are so worth it.

Close up of poppies, orange and yellow.
Beautiful sunlit poppies on my table. I love them!

This morning I walked around my house and looked at all the growing things. Later on I did a little weeding and thinning. Weeding is taking out the things I didn’t plant and don’t want there. I thinned the carrots; there were about 10 seedlings growing in a little clump. I tried choosing all the smaller ones and leave the larger one. I’m hoping I’ve thinned enough so the remaining carrots can flourish.

Gardening makes me think about my life and how the Lord works with us. I think sometimes He does the weeding and thinning, other times we do it ourselves.

Weeding: As we grow we start seeing the things in our lives that are holding us back. For me, I find that I must limit or eliminate time I spend with negative people. I simply don’t have time for it. I don’t spend much time with them and I don’t follow them on Facebook.

Also it’s time to eliminate sugar, that dreadfully addictive substance that is slowly killing us while we encourage it!

Thinning: Maybe we simply say yes to too many things. There’s a lot of great things we could be doing with our time.  Yet, I’d venture to guess that we can’t do it all.   Lysa Terkeurst wrote a book called The Best Yes.  It’s on my reading list for this year. It’s an important thing to understand.

New starts. Growing. Starting over.
A blossoming potato plant growing in my compost.

So, as I come to the end of my day and beginning of my work week I wonder how this week will be better than last.

I recently did a live video on Facebook talking about starting over. It’s humbling to put it all out there. I have all these doubts and questions go through my head. I won’t let them take up space or energy. I’ll abolish them and move on. Starting over means starting brand new, not starting up where I left off.

With that, I’ll let you in on a little secret. I’ll be starting a new blog. This one has served us all well over the past 8 years.My first blog didn’t say much, but it was my hearts cry. That was a new beginning for me. A journey in finding who I am and whose I am. I didn’t know I was I loved or even worthy of it. Wow! I’m temporarily speechless…

I’m excited to start a new blog. I have much to learn about creating the new site, but it’s going to be great! I did almost cry today because I didn’t know what to do, but thank goodness for Pinterest! I’m slowly learning all about self hosting, themes, and plug ins. Also, there’s about a ZILLION fonts to choose from!

I’ll blog here until I get that one all ready.

I’m so grateful for each of you who continue to read my incredibly sporadic writings. Many of you have been faithful readers from when I started on Blogger, then Homeschool Blogger, then here at WordPress. Thank you!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

